“Sod being gender-normative… winter is coming!” – Experiences with ‘Mantyhose’

A few months ago, I wrote a short post about reactions to what’s known as “Mantyhose” – I know there are afficionados out there that don’t like the term, but it does help avoid confusion when you happen to be writing about them in particular. Here in the UK we’re in the middle of autumn, and while it’s been relatively mild the past couple of weeks, temperatures in my neck of the woods have recently dropped to just below freezing.

I work in an office and I’m sitting down for the best part of my 8-hour shift, so I like to go for a walk at lunchtime to stretch the legs and get some fresh air. While my upper-body is protected from the elements by my shirt and winter coat, my trousers offer only a thinnish layer of cotton and polyester with which to cover my legs. When it’s both cold and windy, my legs feel like two blocks of ice. Being quite open-minded, I bought a couple of pairs of Mantyhose in anticipation. I don’t care what you think or what you say – if you haven’t tried it, you don’t know what you’re missing.

a04a1280_largeThe two pairs I bought were both made by Polish hosiery experts Adrian – I bought the footed “City” and the footless “Hunter” varieties. You’re not likely to find them on the high street, but you can get them on eBay for around £6 with free postage.

hunterBoth are incredibly comfortable under trousers. When sat in the office, they add a moderate amount of compression (you hardly notice they’re there) which helps reduce any restlessness or fatigue. Outside, in temperatures colder than my fridge, they prove their worth compared to walking with increasingly-numbing legs. The “City” pair are less bulky, but they do occasionally feel as if my shoes are too big; you need socks with the footless “Hunter” pair, which may be preferable if you’ve got new shoes rubbing your feet, but they are made of significantly thicker material. The only major difference between these varieties and women’s equivalents, as far as I can tell, is the overall sizing and the addition of a “male comfort panel” which adds extra room at the front for that place where some men keep their brains.

aec2a1c0870e27cee14e953ea11dc034Would I ever wear them visibly, for example, under a pair of shorts like the model pictured on the left? Possibly. Definitely not with the striped shorts, that’s for certain. It’s not widely-known that men’s varieties exist so, on one hand, I’d like to educate, but on the other, I’d continue to be mindful of time-manner-place:

At an Eddie Izzard gig – definitely. I likely won’t be the only one.

Visiting a National Trust property with my family – very probably.

In a busy town centre – depends on whether the local football team is at home.

In the vicinity of my local pub – definitely not. I think that would be borderline suicidal.

Leave a Reply

