Online Pruning

This week, I’ve taken it upon myself to do a spot of ‘online pruning’ – there’s so much vying for my attention at the moment, I got rather annoyed with how many times my phone buzzed because of an unimportant notification. There are accounts I rarely use, pages I no longer maintain and interests that no longer interest, so it’s high time I cleared out some of the clutter. Down-time is precious when you work full-time and have a family to support, so I could do without so many distractions. There are far more productive ways to spend the day than deleting junk mail.

Social Media

At the start of the week, I had accounts with Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, WordPress and Instagram but, out of the five of them, I only ever used Facebook and WordPress with any kind of regularity. They are the only two that now remain. I was tempted to remove Facebook too – most of my “friends” I’m either related to or work with, but it’s the few exceptions to the rule that keep my account in place.

Bandcamp

Bandcamp’s served me well over the past 3 years as a host for my ambient music projects, but it’s becoming a nuisance now. It seems like every day I get an e-mail inviting me to download/purchase the latest release from some Netlabel (some artists are just way too prolific) – my music-listening habits have changed since those days, and there aren’t many purchases I still listen to. Once those albums have been downloaded and backed-up to my external hard drive, my “fan” account is being deleted.

My artist account has already gone. It gets very few page hits these days as I’m not all that active any more, and I don’t see the point in keeping it online just for the sake of keeping the music available. It’s run its course and served its purpose.

E-Mail

During and after the 2015 General Election, I was signing many online petitions through places like change.org, SumOfUs and 38 Degrees, and their emails encompass the majority that make it past my spam filter – almost always alerting me to something or other and asking for donations. As much as I’d love to save the world from corporate polluters and tax avoiders, I’m choosing my battles a lot more carefully these days.

 

 

Leave a Reply

